Sunday, June 22, 2014

BREAKING: INEC Declares Ayo Fayose Winner Of Ekiti Governorship Election

The Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) has declared the candidate of the People’s Democratic Party (PDP), Mr Ayodele Fayose as the winner of the June 21 governorship election in Ekiti State.
Mr Fayose, according to the electoral body scored 203, 090 number of votes to beat the candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), Mr Kayode Fayemi, who scored 120, 433 while the candidate of the Labour Party, Bamidele Michael Opeyemi scored 18,135 votes to come third.
“Ayodele Peter Fayose of PDP having certified the requirement of the law and scored the highest number of votes is hereby declared the winner and is returned elected”, said the returning officer and Vice Chancellor of the Federal University, Oye Ekiti, Professor Isaac Azuzu.
Despite a number of political parties fielding
candidates in the election, analysts had tipped the contest to be between the candidates of three parties– the incumbent governor, Kayode Fayemi of the APC, a former governor of the state, Ayo Fayose of the PDP, and a member of the House of Representatives, Opeyemi Bamidele of the LP.
Earlier the candidate of the PDP berated the use of money to sway the minds of electorates during the election insisting that he has left everything in the hands of God.
Speaking to journalists after casting his vote, Mr Fayose said “money for me in this game will destroy so many things and will destroy our future. For me, I have been in my house and I have left everything to God. Whichever way it goes, I have taken it as every good gift comes from God almighty.
“I have put in my best during the campaigns and I have left everything in the hands of God”, he said.
The incumbent governor and candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC), also speaking after casting his vote noted that he had cause to speak to the Inspector General of Police after he failed to reach President Goodluck Jonathan.
He noted that he was compelled to reach them over the violation of the election procedure by the Minister of State for Defence, Musiliu Obanikoro.
In his words “I haven’t been able to get Mr President or his Chief of Staff. I had cause this morning to speak to the Inspector-General of Police, not once, not twice, particularly about this minister of state who was violating the election procedure.
“I have also had cause to speak to the Chief of Army Staff about some untoward activities by his own men on the ground here”, he said.
He however noted that “it has not reached a stage where this should be escalated to the president yet but I will like to think that the president himself will not want a situation that throws Ekiti into jeopardy”.
Meanwhile, candidate of the Labour Party, Mr Bamidele Michael Opeyemi noted that “it feels good to participate in an election that will herald me into the office as the next governor of Ekiti State” insisting that “that is my fate, that is my belief and that is my conviction.
“I want to say that so far, the process appears reasonable and again my hope and prayer is that what I have witnessed here at my polling unit, will be the standard of what is going on in each and every of the 2,195 polling units being used by INEC to conduct this election “ he opined.
In all, 29 domestic and international observers were accredited by INEC to observe the election. The international observers include the UNDP/DGD, EU Delegation, British High Commission, United States Mission to Nigeria, Canadian High commission, Embassies of Netherlands, Switzerland, Germany and France.
Ekiti State has three senatorial districts, six federal constituencies, and 177 registration areas spreading across the 16 LGAs.
There are 2,195 polling units and 2, 803 voting points in the state and about 7,941 members of the National Youth Service Corps (NYSC) were engaged as ad-hoc staff to man the booths.
The incumbent was hoping to break the jinx of state governors not being re-elected after a first term, as no governor of the state has been elected for a second term since Nigeria’s return to democracy in 1999 in the state.

Some of the gubernatorial election results from Ekiti State below...
(1.) Iworoko Polling unit 008 :PDP - 109, APC - 63
(2.) Usi Ekiti Unit 009, Usi Grammar school : PDP-79, APC- 41, LP-3, Accord- 0, CPP- 1, PPA-1, PDC-2.
(3.) Ado LG, Unit 004 ward 004 : PDP- 199, APC-84, LP-21.
(4) Iworoko ward 005 :PDP- 64, APC-37, LP-8.
(5).Iworoko Ward 009 : PDP-78, APC-19, LP-10.
(6.) Okeyemi, Ward 005, Unit 11 : PDP- 162, APC, 57, LP-8.
(7.) Onikoye's Palace IKLG, Unit 16: PDP- 78, APC-50, LP-5.
(8.) Erinmope ward 2 Unit 006: PDP- 47, APC-66, LP-4.
(9.) Imesi Ekiti Ward 5 Unit 003 : PDP-36, APC-46, LP-2, PDC-1, PPA-1, NCP- 1.
(10.) Methodist Polling Unit, Ifaki-Ekiti : PDP-51, APC-1, LP-1
Health Centre Ward 010 Unit 7: PDP- 270, APC-81, LP-6
Health Centre Ward 010 Unit 8: PDP- 252, APC-81, LP-18.
Emiloju: PDP 59, APC 25
Saloro: PDP 26, APC 13
CAC: PDP 47, APC 18
Ita-Ode: PDP 36, APC 6
Adetoyinbo: PDP 67, APC 39
Town Hall:  PDP 80, APC 45
Aro/Saba: PDP 40, APC 36
Obalekosi: PDP 74, APC 44
Ogborodo:PDP 47, APC 56
Obalogbo: PDP 58, APC 29
Akeji:PDP 3, APC 14
Kanmodi:PDP 11, APC 9
Ikole LGA:
Odo Oro:PDP 748, APC 564
Igbara Odo ward 8: Unit 02 PDP-75,APC-52 n LP-7
Unit 11 PDP-73,APC-33 and LP-2
Unit06 PDP-70,APC-51 and LP-3.
Unit 09 PDP-68,APC-22 n LP-5.
Unit 13A PDP-98,APC-55 n LP-5.
Unit 13B PDP-108,APC-26 n LP-8.
Ara Ekiti
Polling Unit 002
PDP 102, APC 32
Igbara - Odo Ekiti
Ward 8, Polling Unit 009
APC 32, LP 11, PDC 01, PDP 69
Polling Unit 008
PDP 62, APC 47, LP 2
Imesi Ekiti, Ward 5, Polling Unit 003
PDP 36, PDC 1, PPA 1, NPC 1, APC 4
Ilawe Ekiti: APC 12, PDP 69, LP 2
Ward 1, Polling Unit 1
PDP 46, APC 21
Eyio Ekiti
Polling Unit 001
PDP 72, APC 40
Polling Unit 002
PDP 102, APC 30
Polling Unit 003
PDP 67, APC 64
Polling Unit 004
PDP 93, APC 23, LP 5

No comments: